The Beginning of Season 2

Won my placement match that landed me back in gold league, and then proceeded to be terrible and lose six in a row!

The last game, against specialk, actually didn’t feel too bad.  I kept up on my drone production by over-emphasizing getting drones.  I even skipped getting queens early on in favour of just getting more drones.  Not necessarily a winning strategy in the long run, but it felt good.  My two hatcheries were extremely oversaturated, anyway, and I did end up getting a third.  Without putting pressure on my opponent, though, it didn’t amount to much.

There’s such a big difference between knowing what to do and doing what you know you should do.  Honestly, I have no idea what I think about while I’m in a match — but I bet you it isn’t the things that I think about while I’m watching casts!  That’s probably one of the problems.  In any event, it looks as though I can get half a dozen or so games in between 9pm and 11pm after my girls are in bed.  I don’t reckon I’ll make a nightly habit out of it, but you never know.  Heck, I’m having fun playing even when I’m losing.  Worse-case, I get bumped down to Bronze and start winning again!  Wouldn’t be my first time down there.  🙂

Oh, and now that I have Fraps, I might start casting my own games.  Not all of them, but maybe some if they are particularly enlightening.  We’ll see.

1 Comment »

  1. lonomonkey said

    Hey there! Was searching for starcraft 2 blogs and came across yours. I’m currently in mostly the same situation as you and started a second blog to keep track of my games.

    In gold too and lost 4 games in a row yesterday 😦 Will defenitively keep checking here to see how you do. We can do eeet!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

